Home Sweet Home?

As I stepped out onto my balcony last week, I was hit with the fresh, rainforest, trademarked West-Coast air. Vancouverites experience this every time they walk out of the Vancouver Airport after returning home. This was the first time I had noticed it since my return to BC this past September.

I have been missing the Prairies lately. I did not realize how much they had become home until I left. I have been living in a type of home-limbo since. While I was in Winnipeg, I missed the rain. Now that I am in Vancouver, I miss the snow. I know I will miss the thunderstorms this upcoming summer.

This fresh coastal air however, brings me peace. Just as the wind rustling through the trees and tall grasses in the Prairies also brought me peace. I suppose people do mourn places, as they do people.

Leave a Reply

