The Pendulum of Spring

It’s hot! It’s cold! It’s Winnipeg!

As one of my friends Alec puts it, “All four seasons in a weekend,” but he is from Alberta and was referring to weather in the Prairies in general. In Winnipeg, I have seen all four seasons in a day: really. In fact, I see it all the time.

Spring in British Columbia is not much different from winter: 9 degrees and raining rather than 7 degrees and raining. Spring in Winnipeg however, can be anything, and can change in minutes. I am not exaggerating, really, minutes. The weather at the moment that I type this is 2 degrees, but there is a predicted high of 21 today. The morning is winter (well, an unusually cold BC winter) and the afternoon is summer, with fall and spring in-between. Oh, and two weeks ago there was a snow storm with temperatures down to -16 with windchill. I mention windchill because out here windchill matters: it really matters.

The snow that visited us in early May

One thought on “The Pendulum of Spring

Leave a comment