I’m only happy when it rains

With approximately 318 days of sunshine every year, Winnipeggers get pretty gloomy when the sun is not shining down upon them. I on the other hand, am only happy when it rains.

There was a Sex and the City episode where the main character, Carrie, goes to sunny and warm Los Angeles. The trip does not go well and the end of the episode shows Carrie serenely arriving home to her New York apartment with grey skies and rain outside the window. Yep, that’s about right.

I miss the cozy feeling that grey skies bring me. I am also happy when the sun is shining, but I could do with a little less of it sometimes. Winnipeggers however, go a little nuts when the sun is gone for more than a couple of days. Without fail, the afternoon radio show I listen to here makes more than three days without sun a cause for hours upon hours of complaint and conversation. They say sarcastic things such as, “What’s that bright orb in the sky?” Sigh.

Naturally, these sentiments do not apply for most of the summer.

Leave a comment