Snow has become the default

On Facebook just now, my cousin posted a photo entitled, “Another awesome day at the park.” There was bright sunshine and green grass. My first thought: “Oh, did he go somewhere on vacation?” Yesterday, a friend of mine posted a photo of her baby on a picnic blanket surrounded by green grass. The same question came to mind. Shortly after these questions my mind remembered that these photos are from my friends and family in BC and their default ground covering is not snow. This has been happening more and more to me now. It has been a long winter.

It is the evening of April 18. The snow is still here. Why? Because it’s Winnipeg, that’s why.

It is eerie for me that the sound of a lawnmower and the sound of a snow blower are identical to each other. The sound drifts in through the windows, confusing my fragile mind.

When my friend – a recent BC transplant – and I go shopping and then leave the store, I often say, “This is where we remember where we live.” We then hunker down and use much strength to push our heavy grocery buggies against the cold opposing wind and over the snow dunes and ice in the parking lot.

DSC_1252

One thought on “Snow has become the default

  1. I don’t remember any winter that has been as long as the one you are experiencing. (And I “enjoyed” 35 of them) Hang in, spring must come.

Leave a comment